Music Discovery #22 of 2012

The new Matthew Dear album is available for streaming, comes out next week I believe… check it out below. Matthew Dear has such a fantastic and unique sound, and his music is distinctly his own. The Fighting Is Futile track is the biggest standout for me, of those from the album that I had not heard yet. I’ve linked a couple great tracks recently, Pipe Dreams and Crimewaves, and both are sadly absent from this album.

Pet Lions reminds me a bit of The Ocean Blue. The Ocean Blue – Cerulean was the first CD I ever bought, all the way back in 1991. The standout on that album was Ballerina Out Of Control, I have included it below for your education. As you may be able to tell, I have had this affinity for the intersection of shoegaze, surf, and indie rock for quite a while. Hope you enjoy it/them as much as I have over the years.

Please note that the exfm player doesn’t pick up YouTube links, or album streams from Soundcloud, so you’ll have to play those individually.

http://static.extension.fm/exfm.js?

AlunaGeorge – Your Drums, Your Love:

Holy Other – Held:

Matthew Dear – Beams:

The Ocean Blue – Ballerina Out Of Control:

Pet Lions – Lightning Bolt

Sun Airway – Close (Beat Connection Remix)

Taken by Trees – Dreams (Dub Remix):

Leave a comment